It’s Mother’s Day!

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 5.51.44 PM

I have a significant threshold for missing people. It takes me awhile to realize that I desire the company of someone I love when I am far away from them. My whole first term in Oxford, I only recall feeling “homesick” once. For whatever reason, Saint Patrick’s Day made me miss home in a way I had never really felt before; my heart ached to be in California, at home, with my friends at APU, anywhere but in a foreign country where I felt alone and apart from my closest family and friends.

Nevertheless, that was only one day. After a few moments spent in the “depths of despair,” I was fine again, and felt connected to the people around me, and felt my love for Oxford come back in full force.

Going into travel break, I was certainly not ready to leave England. As much as I loved traveling around Europe and discovering new places, I couldn’t wait to get back to Oxford — to the city that has somehow become such a home to me. When I arrived back in England at the end of my travels, I nearly squealed with excitement as I got on the bus that would bring me back here. I could not wait to be back in this lovely city.

And yet while I love this city, and am so glad to stay here for another term, I think I can finally say with certainty that in two months time, I will be ready to go home. Over the last few weeks, I think it’s finally hit me that I haven’t seen my parents in four months. Four months. I never realized how convenient it was to attend a school only thirty minutes from my house. Even if I didn’t go home very often, there was always the option to. Every couple of weeks, I could make the short drive out to Fullerton and eat  dinner with my parents, sleep in my own room, wake up and drink french press coffee, say hello to my grandpa, listen to my dad play the ukulele, and watch a cheesy movie with my mom. The longer I stay here, the more I miss those small moments, and the more anxious I am to experience them again when I get home in July.

All that said, today is Mother’s Day! Yay! My mother is absolutely lovely, and the older I get, the more I realize how amazing she is. She is so relatable! She is so beautiful! She has such a wonderful sense of style. She is always willing to talk out upsetting situations. She has an incredible way of making everyone around her feel comfortable and understood. She raised Karly and me to appreciate the best romantic comedies ever made!

I love Oxford a whole lot, but I think it’s true when people say home isn’t a place. It’s the people in our lives who fill our hearts with so much joy that we can hardly wait until the next time we see their faces again — even if it takes us a while to realize it.

I love you so much, Mom, and I can’t wait to see your face so soon! Your daughters are so lucky to have you as their mother 🙂

Leave a Reply

